Shroff Silver incense sticks

This is my first review on this blog so why not start with a namesake – ‘Silver’. I bought Shroff incense when I was in Bangalore. Unfortunately, it is not sold anywhere else in India. They don’t have an online presence or distributors within India. I went directly to their packaging warehouse after talking to them over WhatsApp and so I ended up getting loose incense without their original packaging. They were only wrapped in wax paper packets and the names were handwritten with a marker pen. Only two of the incenses were packed in boxes that had the printed labels with the name of the company and their office address and ‘Silver’ was not one of them. I have seen Shroff incenses available on North America or Europe based distributors’ websites but I don’t see anything that’s simply called ‘Silver’. What I have could be ‘Silver bouquet’, ‘Silver Oud’ or something else altogether.

All their products, since I bought them directly from the source, were priced extremely cheaply at Rs. 60 for each 50 grams pack. Silver is a wet masala stick and unlit, it smells like lemony-lime with a sugary sweet base that is reminiscent of lemonade. The citrus is toned down once the stick is lit, but it retains some sharpness. The saccharine note also develops into a more creamy, soft sweetness that is a lot like their Nag Champa. Perhaps they use the same base oil for both. It is pleasingly sweet and refreshing at the same time but I am not fond of the sharpness that cuts through even though it’s usually a plus point with overly sweet fragrances. It makes me think of acids and acids make me think of chemicals. After a few more minutes, the creamy-floral sweetness of the Nag Champa takes over.

My rating for Shroff silver incense:

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Posted

in

by

Comments

2 responses to “Shroff Silver incense sticks”

  1. Rauchfahne Avatar

    It’s frustrating that you can’t tell what exactly you got. It doesn’t sound like anything oud related but the review on ORS is also not very similar besides Mike mentioning “older champa days”.https://olfactoryrescueservice.wordpress.com/category/incense/by-company/india/shroff-channabasappa/#:~:text=Silver%20Bouquet%20is,quality%20spiced%20tea.
    Might be worth asking if he remembers picking up a citrus note.

    Like

    1. Silver Avatar
      Silver

      I’m actually saving a couple of sticks from every packet and when I visit shroffs’ next I might clarify with the staff directly. I also want to repurchase many of these anyway. I agree silver oudh is unlikely because I have another agarwood wet masala from them and this has no hint of agarwood.
      Thanks for the link 🙂 I’ll read Mike’s review and see if I can find a connection.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started