Ullas Spiritual Mandala incense sticks

I got this incense directly from the manufacturer in a pack of 1 dozen along with a few other Ullas incenses. The current selling price is Rs. 349 (after a discount of 50%) for a dozen boxes of 10 sticks each. The order was delivered within 2 days to Bangalore (It was also shipped from Bangalore). It is manufactured by PATIL PARIMALA WORKS, founded by Mr. P. M. Patil, in 1978 in Bangalore. I’ve also read somewhere on the internet that it used to be called Sri Durga Perfumery.

Unlit, the incense stick smells perfumy and has a strong scent of Khus. When I say perfumy, I mean that the scent on the stick is so intense it almost feels like a fragrant punch in the face and it has some notes of sharpness that smells like a chemical that was used to dilute the fragrance. I also use perfumy almost exclusively for fragrance blends rather than single-note scents.

When I describe any scent or note as ‘oily’ I mean that it smells like a single-note attar. They may or may not have a chemical fragrance note on the stick.

Some Indian incenses smell like a wonderful blend and have a soft and sweet fragrance on the stick, without any strong or pungent synthetic notes but I can’t swear to the fact that these incenses are 100% natural.

Anyway, coming back to Ullas Spiritual Mandala, I really like the minty freshness of Khus even if it’s synthetic. There’s also a rose-like floral sweetness that initially made me go “Wow!”. However, the burnt stick sings a completely different song. There is no trace of khus but there is a little bit of green freshness and the rose is quite prominent in the form of a gulkand-dominated meetha paan fragrance. The slight smokiness, if sitting quite close to the stick, is more of an appetising smokiness rather than something tobacco-like.

My rating for Ullas Spiritual Mandala incense:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Posted

in

by

Comments

8 responses to “Ullas Spiritual Mandala incense sticks”

  1. Rauchfahne Avatar

    I think I never perceived Vetiver as minty but it can have a green freshness to me.
    Though I’m not a particular rose enthusiast, I really want to try this one.

    Like

    1. Silver Avatar
      Silver

      It’s not minty. The freshness of the Khus is somewhat cooling like mint. Mint is sharper whereas Khus is syrupy sweet. I’m also trying to keep a distinction between khus and vetiver (even though they’re supposed to be the same thing) because the vetiver incenses I have tried have used the root so the incense has a very herbal quality. Whereas I believe synthetic khus fragrance is intended to replicate the smell of the grassy portion of the plant. The khus syrups we find here are also artificially coloured green.
      When I tried the incense again yesterday it smelt quite different – the creaminess was overpowering the floral rose. I’ll give this several more tried over the next few months and update my review accordingly.
      BTW the rose is not very floral like rosewater but more of a jammy rose.

      Like

      1. Rauchfahne Avatar

        Oh, that’s interesting. Would you say Vetiver vs. Khus is comparable to the difference of Sandalwood vs. Chandan in Indian incense?
        There’s a Review at Ephra World Shop that says it is not flowery but like a nice oriental perfume.

        Like

      2. Silver Avatar
        Silver

        Yes.
        Sandalwood vs Chandan
        Agarwood vs Oudh
        And Vetiver vs Khus.
        Although I must qualify this with a disclaimer that there are several exceptions to the first two.

        Like

  2. Rauchfahne Avatar

    Do you get this fresh, minty Khus scent also in Cycle Woods?
    There is a scent that has a minty quality and reminds me of wintergreen and I wonder if it could be what you mean here. It could also be the fresh note I get from Fleur de Vie – Tree of Life. I’ve smelled this in other incenses to but more in a trace ammount.
    Besides genuine curiousity, that’s the main reason I want to try Spiritual Mandala.
    If you have any recommendations for incense with this minty Khus note I might be able to get, it would be awesome.

    Like

    1. Silver Avatar
      Silver

      Hmmm I remember cycle woods only vaguely but I think it has some camphor in it. Not khus. Khus is more syrupy sweet and fresh.
      I’d suggest you to get this one even if it’s from sri durga perfumery. None of the other brands I’ve tried might be available in germany. Flourish fragrance has a single note khus incense that absolutely nails it.
      I’ve tried rajpal and vedic vaani as well but they failed to capture that freshness and overdid on the sweetness.

      Like

      1. Rauchfahne Avatar

        I put Flourish Khus in my notes, and keep my eyes open for it. Thank you. 🙂

        Like

      2. Jeff Avatar
        Jeff

        On a visit to Kerala many years ago, I purchased a small metal container plugged with a cork top and filled with Khus(Vetiver). In all my travels in India with years of sniffing incense, I have never come across the same scent which stopped me in my tracks and gave me a sense of wonder at this marvelous fragrance.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started