Ullas Agarveda incense sticks

I bought Ullas Agarveda and Traditions of India as a combo pack from Ullas’ online store for Rs. 698 (after a 50% discount) with 1 dozen boxes of each fragrance, each box containing 12 sticks.

There is no doubt that they were going for a herbal-ayurvedic scent with this one but is the ‘agar’ in the name meant to stand for agarwood? On the stick I get some herbal smell but they’re not the usual sweet or pungent herbs. They seem to have more of a dark, bitter quality that’s more in line with medicinal ayurveda than culinary herbs. It also wouldn’t be too far-fetched to call it a woody aroma, especially because it has a somewhat bitter quality like most oudh incenses, but I still hesitate to associate it with agarwood. I intend to do an agarwood/oudh comparison from many brands in the future so maybe by then I might be able to verify this with some more confidence.

One funny thing about the incense – While one part of me is trying to decide if the smell is more herbal or woody, or if the woodiness comes from agarwood or something else, another part of me thinks “That’s definitely burning rubber”. And then I can’t stop noticing it. But that’s not the funny part – the funny part is that I actually like it! It gives it a noir quality without being too harsh.

They’ve done a very good job with this incense although I do wish they’d include a description of scent profiles so that we know what they’re aiming for.

My rating for Ullas Agarveda incense:

Rating: 4 out of 5.


Posted

in

by

Comments

2 responses to “Ullas Agarveda incense sticks”

  1. Vid (VegetableLobster) Avatar
    Vid (VegetableLobster)

    Nice. I’m glad that you like agarveda.

    Like

    1. Silver Avatar
      Silver

      Thanks. I am really looking forward to explore more from ullas.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started