Balaji Red incense sticks review

Balaji Red incense sticks

I bought Balaji Red from Amazon.in but it isn’t available there anymore. I generally don’t like purchasing from Amazon and order directly from manufacturers whenever possible. But Balaji Red was not even listed on Balaji’s own official website! I also wrote an email to Balaji but received no response. However, Balaji Red is now available for purchase on their website for Rs. 72 for a 50 gms box.

It seems to be a charcoal based extruded incense with vermillion red dusting coating it. The fragrance is extremely complex and unlike any other incense I’ve ever tried before. For that reason alone, I’d recommend anyone interested in Indian incense to give this a try.

I could neither find any official fragrance description of the product that came from the manufacturer nor could I find many reviews from consumers. It’s a very strong, heady scent that lingers for several hours but it does not have the alcoholic note that usually gives me headaches. At first, I thought it might be red sandalwood incense but I was wrong. It’s a very sweet, milky fragrance with a little bit of rose and vanilla mixed in. I also get some fragrance that I associate with kumkum powder but maybe I am only imagining it because of the colour. There’s also a faint metallic note to it that I associate with the smell of iron in blood or the smell of rust and tiny bit of pungency like red chilli powder. My description is all over the place but that’s why I am genuinely curious to know what other people think of this one.

I like the creaminess but it’s a tad too milky and sweet for my taste. I wouldn’t mind burning it once in a while but burning it regularly will be very overwhelming, maybe even nauseating.

My rating for Balaji Red incense:

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Posted

in

by

Comments

12 responses to “Balaji Red incense sticks”

  1. Vid (VegetableLobster) Avatar
    Vid (VegetableLobster)

    Hi. I like Balaji red and somehow I find Balaji red smells exactly like Shalimar zoya masala batti. It has the same fragrance but the differences are that the stick in Balaji is red and in the shalimar one it’s pink.

    Like

  2. Silver Avatar
    Silver

    Does Shalimar have a fragrance description for Zoya?

    Like

    1. Vid (VegetableLobster) Avatar
      Vid (VegetableLobster)

      No. I can’t find the zoya Masala batti in their website but they have zoya 7 in 1 and it’s not similar.

      Like

      1. Silver Avatar
        Silver

        Yeah I also couldn’t find it anywhere except UAE websites. I think it might be exclusive to UAE.

        Like

  3. Rauchfahne Avatar

    So far I’ve avoided to review this one. I have a really hard time describing it. There is this special note in it that I can only describe as “citric” but on the other hand that’s not exactly what it is. Maybe it’s what you mean by metalic?
    It’s been a while since I burned it the last time. My memory on it is not super clear anymore.
    It’s a very interesting scent but also easily overwhlelming to me.

    Like

    1. Silver Avatar
      Silver

      I can’t light it often either. I bought it in March and so far I’ve only burnt it 2 or 3 times. Just as with most other incense here, this one had a Minimum Order Quantity on Amazon so I have 200 gms of Balaji Red 😥
      If it was outright bad, I would have donated it or discarded it even though I don’t like to create waste.
      But it’s exactly enticing enough to pique my curiosity but too overwhelming to burn more often than once a month.
      As for the metallic smell – It smells like when you add a little too much baking powder to something and the food gets a sort of metallic taste.

      Like

  4. Steve Avatar

    I reviewed the Balaji Red nearly six years ago. https://incenseinthewind.blogspot.com/2017/06/balaji-red-premium-flora-sticks.html

    I liked it a lot. I like indulgent incenses that are full of life and interest. I’m curious now to try it again. It’s a cheap and easy purchase for me in the UK as we have a good online store called Popatstores.co.uk. They sell a pack of 14 sticks for £1.40, with over 15 other Balaji fragrances in stock. I am tempted to get some more, but I already have such a backlog that I must focus on reducing first!

    Like

    1. Silver Avatar
      Silver

      Thanks Steve. I only discovered your blog recently so there are many older reviews that I seem to have missed. I’ll check your review right away.

      I can relate to the temptation of wanting to buy more incense even though I’m running out of storage space. It’s like the Tsundoku but for incense. What makes it worse is that most incenses here only come in packs of 50 grams. If they are sold in smaller boxes containing 10 or 15 sticks, they come as a set of 1 dozen such boxes.

      Like

      1. incensedblog Avatar

        I assume you live in India. Whereabouts?

        Like

      2. Silver Avatar
        Silver

        Yes I’m from Mumbai, India.

        Like

      3. incensedblog Avatar

        That must be frustrating – you are surrounded by a variety of incense makers, yet you can only buy in 50g packets. I’ve not been to India – is that common, that incense is sold mainly in 50g packets?

        Like

      4. Silver Avatar
        Silver

        Most of the good ones are sold in 50g packets and if a brand only sells smaller packets of 10 or 15 sticks, they make boxed sets of 1 dozen (and not assorted). Some brands have an MOQ (minimum order quantity) in addition to these stipulations. I might actually do a post on this subject by the end of this week.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started